## 9th Sat Paul Mittal National Inter-University Debate Competition 2025 28<sup>th</sup> February-1<sup>st</sup> March, 2025



## IAPPD Successfully concludes the 9th Sat Paul Mittal National Inter-University Debate Competition 2025 on "The Climate Crisis is Posing a Threat to Human Health"

IAPPD successfully hosted the 9th Sat Paul Mittal National Inter-University Debate Competition 2025 from February 28 to March 1, 2025, at the IAPPD Auditorium, New Delhi. The event brought together students from 14 universities (28 contestants, one for the Motion and one against the motion) across India, engaging them in a dynamic exchange of ideas on the pressing issue: "The Climate Crisis is Posing a Threat to Human Health."

This thought-provoking debate explored the far-reaching consequences of climate change on human well-being, touching upon critical aspects such as rising temperatures, air pollution, and the spread of infectious diseases. Participants presented well-researched arguments, offering diverse perspectives on the intersection of environmental and public health concerns.

The Inaugural Session featured Dr. Balakrishna Pisupati, Country Head, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), as the Chief Guest, while Prof. P.J. Kurien, former Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha and Chairman of IAPPD, presided over the event. Mr. Bhubaneswar Kalita, MP, and Vice Chair of Standing Committee of IAPPD, graced the occasion as Special Guest. The debate was successfully convened by Prof. Sudesh Nangia, Technical Expert at IAPPD.

Prof. P.J. Kurien was the driving force behind the seamless execution of the event, ensuring its success with his strategic leadership and unwavering dedication. Mr. Manmohan Sharma, Executive Secretary, IAPPD, played a pivotal role in the flawless execution of the event.

The Valedictory Session, held on March 1, 2025, witnessed the presence of Dr. Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Chairperson, and National Commission for Minorities, Ministry of Minority Affairs, Government of India, as the Chief Guest. Mr. Avinash Rai Khanna, former MP and Vice Chair of IAPPD, graced the event and addressed the participants. The event concluded with the felicitation of winners, recognizing the most impactful debaters and teams for their exceptional performances.

The University of Kashmir secured the first prize in the university category, while Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, emerged as the runners-up. In the individual category, Mr. Gopesh from DAV University, Jalandhar, claimed the first prize, followed by Ms. Kasis Mukesh from Kannur University, Kerala, in second place, and Ms. Shreejita Ghosh from Vidyasagar University, West Bengal, in third. Additionally, consolation prizes were awarded to Ms. Palak Rajput from Barkatullah University, Bhopal; Mr. Toniho Kharsati from NEHU, Shillong; and Ms. Muskan Thakur from the University of Jammu.

The debate provided a national platform for students to engage in critical thinking and policyoriented discussions. A distinguished panel of experts evaluated the participants, ensuring a robust and insightful competition.